Greetings from Barcelona, and thank you for the invite.

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.
Join now!
Status
Not open for further replies.

Mongrel

Nov 11, 2020
Hello all,

Today I was invited to join this forum, and it will be very nice to participate in a community like this one after getting tired of general social media in the last few years. I always loved forums, and time ago I spent tons of hours in several, both as a member and as a staffer. Lessons for me are clear; social media may excel in connecting, but forums provide better discussions, richer lessons and overall much kinder people. So thank you again to the person who gave me an invite.

Macro photography is a pleasant hobby for me. Although I graduated in film school (which helped me to grasp some basics) I've worked mostly as a film editor, and it was only relatively recently that I decided to get a decent camera and a macro lens, propelled by a more serious hobby so far: gardening. Initially I just wanted to capture the structure of some rare seeds for identification, and maybe the initial stages of some seedlings. But as COVID confinement measures kicked in, I started taking some shots in my garden after a distant friend, locked up in a city flat, wished for some more flowers in her social feed. And as I began taking snapshots, I enjoyed every minute of it. Currently I don't have much free time to spare with photography but I try to keep it warm, abiding to my only rule - I'm only taking photos within my home walls, garden included. Photos of plants I'm nursing, others that just show up uninvited, and some bug visitors. It agrees with another old rule I learned in storytelling. Talk about your village, and you'll talk about the whole world. Which is also, in a way, macrophotography.