Lens Issue with 100mm L f2.8

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.
Join now!
The member want's to discuss about the lens specified in the topic.

Jack

Love Macro
Staff member
3 3 1
Mar 13, 2020
Hi. Yesterday I've done some macro images with my lens which is 100mm L f2.8. Once I took it off from my camera, I've noticed very hard noise while shaking the lens. Has anyone experienced same issue ? Just interesting, and I'm a bit worried about the lens, as is still brand new, and haven't used much.

Helix_2648

Real-Typer
Legend TEAM
5 3
Apr 20, 2020
I assume it's caused by the internal stabilizer. Have you noticed any problems with your auto focus or your iris during the shooting? Try to turn off the image stabilizer and test it again.

But I'm not an expert and I don't have this lens at home to test it by myself.

Reactions: Jack

Jack

Love Macro
Staff member
3 3 1
Mar 13, 2020
I assume it's caused by the internal stabilizer. Have you noticed any problems with your auto focus or your iris during the shooting? Try to turn off the image stabilizer and test it again.

But I'm not an expert and I don't have this lens at home to test it by myself.
when I took it off, I noticed the lens diaphragms was very small, i did put back to the lens, and made a picture, and when I took it off, is was fine, the noise still was there, but not as when the diaphragms was small. I don’t know if anyone has same issue. But very weird .

kzurro

1 1
Dec 21, 2020
I've had that same issue, but when I used that lens with my Sony camera and a Metabones Canon to Sony adapter. at times, when I turned the camera off, the IS unit remained lose and made some noise. I had to turn on the camera again, with the IS on, on the lens, half press the shutter release to have the IS working, stop pressing the button and waiting for the IS to stop. by doing that the IS remained locked when I turned the camera off again.

Reactions: Helix_2648 and Jack