One of those infernal recommendations posts - macro rail, macro filter, lenses

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.
Join now!
Status
Not open for further replies.

kenleephotography

Dec 17, 2020
I usually don't try to flood forums with questions that I suspect are commonly asked, but I am not seeing a discussion about this here, so I thought I'd ask.

I am an experienced night photographer. However, I am totally new to macro, and to be quite frank, I'm not sure how much I will pursue it. I want to experiment and see if I want to pursue it further. I hope I love it, but need to begin slowly with minimal equipment and expenditure so I can just experiment. If I like it, I'll get the good stuff later.

So to get started only, what would you recommend while keeping prices extremely low?

INEXPENSIVE MACRO RAIL:
I already have a helping hands doohickey with four arms and a magnifying glass. This helped, but then I noticed that focusing, especially for the oil bubbles, was a giant-sized pain in the rear. I was interested in purchasing something like the $32 Neewer macro rail. Yes, I know it's cheap, but I really do not want to spend a lot of money only to find that I am not going to do this. If the Neewer isn't gonna cut the mustard, what is something that is a little better but ideally $50 or less?

MACRO FILTERS: