Your opinion? Post-Processing examples

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.
Join now!
The member has asked your opinion about his/her photo(s) attached in the topic.

grphotog641

Apr 23, 2020
I'm new to macro, but have been doing digital photography as a hobby for about the last 10 years (and B&W film long before that).
For most of my shooting, I've tried to keep my post-processing as realistic as possible - boost some levels, fix some noise, etc. This is particularly the case for the sports photography that I spent most of the fall and winter doing.
Recently I find that I've been more aggressive with my post processing and trying to get a little more arty or a little more dramatic. I guess you could say I'm trying to find my style.

Anyway, here are some examples of post processing and pulling something interesting out of what might look boring at first.
Image is a buttercup taking with a D500 and Sigma 105mm macro @ f/8, 1/250s, ISO400. Handheld with cheap speedlight with the little plastic diffuser that it came with.

Image 1: RAW image with only Lightroom auto-tone applied. I consider this the "before" image
Image 2: Processing in Lightroom with Topaz Sharpen AI used for a little sharpen/denoise
Image 3: Processing in Lightroom, NIK Color Efex, Lightroom again, and Topaz Sharpen AI used for a little sharpen/denoise
DSC_0459-3.jpg DSC_0459-Edit-3.jpg DSC_0462-Edit-2.jpg

Last edited:

Shan

Apr 12, 2020
lovely comparisons. your monochrome film history is evident by pushing up the contrasts. that brings out he texture by contrasting the veins of the petals nicely. was there any vignetting applied?

Reactions: grphotog641

grphotog641

Apr 23, 2020
lovely comparisons. your monochrome film history is evident by pushing up the contrasts. that brings out he texture by contrasting the veins of the petals nicely. was there any vignetting applied?