Greetings!

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.
Join now!
Status
Not open for further replies.

allenlama

May 21, 2020
Hello!

I'm Allen, I live in China, I'm an amateur photographer and since 2018 I've been trying to perfect my macro photography skills. I don't specialize in a particular area of macro photography. I just shoot what I like and how I feel like shooting depending on the weather and location. Thanks, admin, and Greetings to all!

Do you know that you can use the 3D printer as a focus rail? I used my 3d printer as a focus rail, it does work but it''s a bit cumbersome procedure though, If you've got one give it a try.

Step#No.1. Place your camera firmly on the printing bed and make sure it's not moving or wobbling when the bed is moving. (Please turn off, disable or unplug bed's and extruders heating unit.)

Step#No 2. place your subject away from the bed how far or close it's determined by your camera focal length.

Step#No 3.Find the printer setting which allows you to move only the printer's stepper motors (Y-axis ) by microns or millimeters by turning the adjustment button or adjustment dial. (Please turn off, disable or unplug bed's and extruders heating unit.)

Step#No.4 Move the bed by microns or millimeters than take a shot and keep repeating Step#No.4 until you get all the shots as desired (I suggest to you to use a shutter release cable or infrared trigger)I hope you understand my explanation.

Good luck!

Attachments

• weevil signatured.jpg
    weevil signatured.jpg
    6 MB · Views: 5
  • _MG_8205-Edit-Edit-Edit-Edit.jpg
    _MG_8205-Edit-Edit-Edit-Edit.jpg
    6.2 MB · Views: 6
  • Weevil.png
    Weevil.png
    9.9 KB · Views: 4
  • Spider.png
    Spider.png
    9 KB · Views: 3
Last edited:

nataliaflejszar&Photo

Welcome to the beautiful North of Europe :)
3 2
Apr 18, 2020
Hello!