Locations My Road Rig

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.
Join now!
This topic is open to discuss the best locations for (macro) photography or recommended locations based on member's geographical place.

A-PeeR

Jan 23, 2021
I survey our power grids for a living. This includes photogrammetry coverage as well as LiDAR. It's a great job, I enjoy doing it and it affords me the opportunity to travel the country. I get to see sights I would never think to visit on my own accord, meet great people and photograph electric poles. Ok, last part isn't to exciting but the rig I use is - 8 Nikon D-850's each with Zeiss 25mm 2.8 Distagon lenses. The rig provides 360 degree coverage of the environment traversed. On a typical day I collect 1 to 2 terabytes of photographic images. Currently upgrading the system to 10 Nikon Z-7's with Zeiss 25mm lenses. Should be hitting the road later in the week.
RIG-Close-up.jpg

IMG-1588.JPG

Jack

Love Macro
Staff member
3 3 1
Mar 13, 2020
Wow, that’s serious equipment. So what basically you are taking pictures of?

You can showcase equipment here if you’d like:

A-PeeR

Jan 23, 2021
Wow, that’s serious equipment. So what basically you are taking pictures of?

You can showcase equipment here if you’d like:

I survey the power lines and poles for electric providers. They need to see the condition of the poles and measure the sag in the wires to schedule maintenance.

Reactions: Jack

Jack

Love Macro
Staff member
3 3 1
Mar 13, 2020
I survey the power lines and poles for electric providers. They need to see the condition of the poles and measure the sag in the wires to schedule maintenance.

That's must an interesting job. Quick question, these lenses attached to the camera, are they covered in foil? Or other type of material. Or are they some special lenses for the job.

A-PeeR

Jan 23, 2021